European Board of Gastroenterology
European Board of Gastroenterology

Objectives | Executive | Structure of the EUMS | The Gastroenterology and Hepatology Section of the EUMS | The European Board of Gastroenterology and Hepatology (EBGH) | Links
EBGH Membership | EBGH Exam

EBGH European Trainee Symposium Paris 10th 11th May 2013

Group Photograph of Participants at the EBGH European Trainee Symposium, Paris
10th/11th May 2013

To serve patients throughout Europe by developing, supporting and encouraging doctors of the highest quality in the specialty of Gastroenterology and Hepatology.

To achieve the delivery of high quality patient care by promoting and harmonising high standards for medical practice and postgraduate education, and thus clinical excellence.

Key Objectives are

  • To define, secure and assess the standards of training in Gastroenterology and Hepatology in Europe.
  • To evaluate the quality of International Gastroenterology and Hepatology CME/CPD in Europe in conjunction with EACCME.
  • To promote exchange of trainee gastroenterologists and hepatologists.
  • To collect and analyze workforce demographics and statistics in Gastroenterology and Hepatology.

The current Executive and Officers of the European Board and Section of Gastroenterology and Hepatology are:

Dr Jean Paul Jacques
President, Section of Gastroenterology and Hepatology
11, rue Gabriel Péri
F- 31 000 Toulouse
Dr Ian Barrison
President, Board of Gastroenterology and Hepatology
Associate Dean
School of Postgraduate Medicine
University of Hertfordshire
Hatfield AL10 9AB
Dr Isabelle Cremers
Secretary General, Section & Board of Gastroenterology and Hepatology
Servico De Gastroenterology
Hospital Saġ Bernardo
Av Camilo Castelo Branco
2910 446 Setubal
cremers_tavares@hotmail.com cremers.tavares@gmail.com
Dr Jan Lillienau
Treasurer, Section & Board of Gastroenterology and Hepatology
Skane University Hospital
Dept of Gastroenterology & Nutrition
SE-221 85 Lund
Prof Dr Ludwig Kramer
Chair, CME Committee
Head, 1st Dept.of Medicine with Gastroenterology
Hietzing Hospital
Wolkersbergenstrasse 1
A-1130 Vienna
Professor Nurdan Tozun
Chair, Training Recognition Committee
Acibadem University, School of Medicine
Acibadem Kozyatagi Hospital
Inonu Cadd. Okur Sok. No 20
Kozyatagi 34 742
Professor Gian Dorta
Chair, Manpower & Public Affairs Committee
Department of Gastroenterology & Hepatology
1011 Lausanne
Dr Hannu Nuutinen
Chair Examination Committee
Helsinki University Central Hospital
Department of Gastroenterology and Hepatology POB 340
FIN-00029 HUS
Christiane Bigard
Executive Secretary
European Board of Gastroenterology

European Gastroenterology and Hepatology Postgraduate Training Programme and Curriculum - publications

* The Blue Book 2012 (PDF, 384 kb)
* Accredited European Training Centres (DOC, 119 kb)

Structure of the EUMS
The European Union of Medical Specialists (EUMS) (en francais L’Union Européenne des Médecins Specialistes - UEMS) was founded in 1958, one year after the European Economic Community (EEC).  It is the official representative body of all Medical Specialists to the European Commission.  The EUMS is composed of working medical specialists who are delegated by the professional bodies of their own countries.  The organization consists of an Executive Committee and 37 specialist sections, one for every specialty recognized in at least one-third of the member countries.  Some specialties, who are not entitled to create their own Section, are associated with another specialty Section.  The EUMS has contacts with the European Commission, the Advisory Committee for Medical Training and the Permanent Committee.
The EUMS has no funding from the EU and relies on the receipt of fees from the professional bodies of its member countries.

The Gastroenterology and Hepatology Section of the EUMS
This is composed of two delegates from each of the 30 EUMS member countries (the 27 EU-countries plus, Norway, Iceland and Switzerland) and a representative from the Junior Doctors Organization (PWG).  The delegates are appointed by the National Medical Associations.  Azerbaijan, Croatia, Georgia, Israel and Turkey are associated countries. Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Russia and Ukraine are observer countries.  Two organizations, associated with Gastroenterology and Hepatology, are represented by observers (European Association for the Study of the Liver and Association des Sociétiés Nationales Europeéannes et Méditerranéennes de Gastroentérologie).

The European Board of Gastroenterology and Hepatology (EBGH)
The European Board of Gastroenterology and Hepatology was founded in 1992 as a working party, composed of maximum two delegates per country, one from the Section and one from the national Gastroenterology abd Hepatology Society.  The two delegates from each country are selected to provide a balance between pure clinicians and academics.

The EBGH has the following working sub-committees: the Training and Recognition Committee, the CME Committee, Examinations Committee and the Manpower and Public Affairs Committee.

The routine business of the Section and EBGH is carried out by an Executive Committee, composed of the President of the Section, the President of the Board, the Secretary General and the Treasurer.  The Section and the Board meet twice a year – in the spring and at the annual UEGW meeting.


See www.eaccme.eu for an up to date list of accredited Gastroenterology & Hepatology Events